So I'm actually quite embarrassed to say this, but this mini-assignment that almost never was is actually the first time I've ever had to give serious contemplative thought to my future employment after college. I have quite literally lost count of how many tabs I have open in however many internet browsers I have running. The fan in my laptop is working overtime trying to keep the guts of the machine cool and I guess that sort of serves as a decent metaphor for what's going on in my head at the same time. I'm also typing this in a TextEdit document saved as "What The Fuck Are You Doing With Your Life?" but that's beside the point.

As a film major, many occupational opportunities could be easily assumed to require relocation to the west coast, primarily California, but the industry is gaining strength in east coast cities like New York, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh. While not as plentiful, jobs in such cities do exist and really only require the right knowledge and perseverance. 

In order to reach my goal of being a screenwriter, I'll first need an entry level position in an editing company, a film production house, or some other media outlet. The first occupation I had heard of that was related to scripts was that of Script Reader, who works at a production company and essentially filters incoming pieces and decides which ones are quality and which should be discarded. Once decided, a team or individual works to present the piece to a producer who will decide whether or not to pick up the script for shooting. Apart from this is the part of the company that deals with the script at this stage, the editors who review the product, clean it up and prepare it for shooting.

Another option would be to work closely with a writers group in a production company whose job is to compose original works that can belong to the company and that are known to be quality, taking the risk of outside works out of the equation. This team of writers works continuously to pitch ideas for all types of media, but this job is rare and typically comes after a great deal of recognition is earned.

The last viable option I see right now would be to intern full-time at any position within a production company with the hopes that my GPA, major and minors, and general background would separate me from other potential candidates. From that point, I would be forced to work my way through the internship, proving that I have the skills and drive necessary to succeed in the industry, and then hopefully would be offered a low level job. Again then, I would have to work my way through the position, making connections and separately working on personal projects that I could prepare to ship out to other production companies.

The film industry is one of connections, and until you actually have to think about what connections you have, you trick yourself into thinking they'll be enough. As it turns out the truth might be quite different.




Leave a Reply.